Three Ways to Get Started                                                

My Account

Tel: 239-936-6940

Deep Stretch and Release - Yin Yoga


This class is taught by:

Kelly Cornwall

My introduction to yoga came by way of an invitation from my youngest daughter to join her for a yoga class at the local YMCA. From that day, from the very first time I stepped to the top of my yoga mat, I have been captivated by and with the practice of yoga. As the mother of adult children and newly retired after being self-employed for over twenty years, I found myself with an abundance of free time. As a result of my yoga training I have made many new discoveries, one of which is a profound appreciation for the gentle, restorative and yin practices of yoga. These practices invite us to slow down. They offer stillness and the chance to move inward. I find this to be an important part of a balanced practice. The path that was opened to me on that fateful day at the YMCA has brought me to a place where exploration is encouraged, community embraces and as I continue on my journey I am not alone. Indeed I find myself in very good company.

Helen Garcia-Valdez

My journey of yoga began with a desire to improve my range of motion. Little did I know that yoga would meet me where I was and offer me a most transformational journey. This new found joy lead me to teacher training at Yoga Bird and has blossomed into the desire to share the gift of yoga with others. My passion for helping individuals, coupled with my love of teaching both adults and children, fosters the creation of an accepting space that nourishes the body, mind and spirit.
I am delighted to share my practice of yoga in a way that honors each and every body and cultivates curiosity and a desire to take yoga off the mat and into our daily lives.
Cultivate flexibility, focus, and deep calm in this practice. You will hold poses for longer periods, working deep to access the body's connective tissue, ligaments, and joints. Yin brings in elements of a Taoist approach and is a great balance for those with an active practice. Meditators may find that Yin helps make mediation posture more accessible.

Upcoming classes:

  • Tue Jun 27 4:30 pm - 5:45 pm with Kelly Cornwall
  • Tue Jul 11 4:30 pm - 5:45 pm with Helen Garcia-Valdez
  • Tue Jul 18 4:30 pm - 5:45 pm with Helen Garcia-Valdez
  • Tue Jul 25 4:30 pm - 5:45 pm with Helen Garcia-Valdez
  • Tue Aug 01 4:30 pm - 5:45 pm with Helen Garcia-Valdez
  • Tue Aug 08 4:30 pm - 5:45 pm with Helen Garcia-Valdez
  • Tue Aug 15 4:30 pm - 5:45 pm with Helen Garcia-Valdez
  • Tue Aug 22 4:30 pm - 5:45 pm with Helen Garcia-Valdez
  • Tue Aug 29 4:30 pm - 5:45 pm with Helen Garcia-Valdez
  • Tue Sep 05 4:30 pm - 5:45 pm with Helen Garcia-Valdez
  • Tue Sep 12 4:30 pm - 5:45 pm with Helen Garcia-Valdez
  • Tue Sep 19 4:30 pm - 5:45 pm with Helen Garcia-Valdez
  • Tue Sep 26 4:30 pm - 5:45 pm with Helen Garcia-Valdez
  • Tue Oct 03 4:30 pm - 5:45 pm with Helen Garcia-Valdez
  • Tue Oct 10 4:30 pm - 5:45 pm with Helen Garcia-Valdez
  • Tue Oct 17 4:30 pm - 5:45 pm with Helen Garcia-Valdez
  • Tue Oct 24 4:30 pm - 5:45 pm with Helen Garcia-Valdez