Three Ways to Get Started

 

My Account

Tel: 239-936-6940

Yoga 101 Workshop


This class is taught by:

Joanne Halt

My yoga journey began in 1999, doing Bikram Yoga. I gained strength, flexibility, and energy. As a former counselor, I experienced how body awareness led to emotional awareness. I grew in my ability to be present, which helped my emotional and spiritual growth. Then a back injury took me out of yoga for months. I returned to my practice, and then developed a meniscus tear in my left knee. After 12 years of a challenging practice, I searched for a gentler program and sampled different yoga styles before “landing” at Yoga Bird. Finding a studio that stresses adapting for individual differences has allowed me to practice in a way, which suits my age. I became a Yoga Bird trained (RYT200) teacher at age 70 with a 16-year practice, in order to share the spiritual, emotional and physical benefits of yoga. What great joy this ancient holistic health practice brings me! It has allowed me to “Let be, let go, let in”-- to accept, surrender, and renew.

Jean Klein

I found yoga in 2010 during a difficult time in my life. I was taking one or two classes a week and I remember thinking "Hey, that took my grief away for a second" and I found I could breathe easier. Soon after I retired from the Post Office and moved to SWFL I started my daily practice and realized Yoga has healing and energetic qualities. I began to understand that the ancient philosophies aligned with my beliefs and how I lived my life. I started to see Yoga as a tool for cultivating overall health, wellbeing and self-transformation. I realized this is big stuff and needs to be shared and I completed my 200 hour teacher training at Yoga Bird. My favorite thing about yoga is that it meets you where you are on any given day or moment and carries you to where you need to be. I like to design and teach classes that are accessible, meaningful and sustainable. In class we will consciously connect breath-body-mind while we explore the development of strength, flexibility and balance. I would like to teach you to practice with insight and inner compassion so as leave your mat you do so with an energetic feeling of sense and self.
Learn the basics of how to practice yoga, so you can begin to enjoy yoga classes or a home practice. This two hour class will be a mix of learning and movement. Move at your own pace according to your intention and fitness level. Prepare to have fun and discover the amazing benefits of yoga in an easygoing, relaxed setting with other beginners.

Upcoming classes:

  • Sat Oct 21 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm with Joanne Halt
  • Sat Oct 28 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm with Jean Klein
  • Sat Nov 04 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm with Staff Member
  • Sat Nov 11 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm with Staff Member
  • Sat Nov 18 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm with Staff Member
  • Sat Nov 25 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm with Staff Member
  • Sat Dec 02 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm with Staff Member
  • Sat Dec 09 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm with Staff Member
  • Sat Dec 16 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm with Staff Member
  • Sat Dec 23 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm with Staff Member
  • Sat Dec 30 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm with Staff Member
  • Sat Jan 06 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm with Staff Member
  • Sat Jan 13 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm with Staff Member
  • Sat Jan 20 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm with Staff Member
  • Sat Jan 27 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm with Staff Member
  • Sat Feb 03 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm with Staff Member
  • Sat Feb 10 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm with Staff Member
  • Sat Feb 17 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm with Staff Member