Chair Yoga


This class is taught by:

Kelly Cornwall

My introduction to yoga came by way of an invitation from my youngest daughter to join her for a yoga class at the local YMCA. From that day, from the very first time I stepped to the top of my yoga mat, I have been captivated by and with the practice of yoga. As the mother of adult children and newly retired after being self-employed for over twenty years, I found myself with an abundance of free time. As a result of my yoga training I have made many new discoveries, one of which is a profound appreciation for the gentle, restorative and yin practices of yoga. These practices invite us to slow down. They offer stillness and the chance to move inward. I find this to be an important part of a balanced practice. The path that was opened to me on that fateful day at the YMCA has brought me to a place where exploration is encouraged, community embraces and as I continue on my journey I am not alone. Indeed I find myself in very good company.
Enjoy the benefits of yoga without getting up and down from the floor. In chair yoga, students practice poses while seated in a chair or using the chair for assistance in some standing poses. Those with chronic conditions or less mobility or anyone looking for gradual and gentle ways to increase his or her range of motion can experience benefits from this practice. Join people of all ages, levels, and physical conditions in this fun, supportive class.

Upcoming classes:

  • Fri Aug 18 10:30 am - 11:30 am with Kelly Cornwall
  • Mon Aug 21 10:30 am - 11:30 am with Kelly Cornwall
  • Fri Aug 25 10:30 am - 11:30 am with Kelly Cornwall
  • Mon Aug 28 10:30 am - 11:30 am with Kelly Cornwall
  • Fri Sep 01 10:30 am - 11:30 am with Kelly Cornwall
  • Fri Sep 08 10:30 am - 11:30 am with Kelly Cornwall
  • Mon Sep 11 10:30 am - 11:30 am with Kelly Cornwall
  • Fri Sep 15 10:30 am - 11:30 am with Kelly Cornwall
  • Mon Sep 18 10:30 am - 11:30 am with Kelly Cornwall
  • Fri Sep 22 10:30 am - 11:30 am with Kelly Cornwall
  • Mon Sep 25 10:30 am - 11:30 am with Kelly Cornwall
  • Fri Sep 29 10:30 am - 11:30 am with Kelly Cornwall
  • Mon Oct 02 10:30 am - 11:30 am with Kelly Cornwall
  • Fri Oct 06 10:30 am - 11:30 am with Kelly Cornwall
  • Mon Oct 09 10:30 am - 11:30 am with Kelly Cornwall
  • Fri Oct 13 10:30 am - 11:30 am with Kelly Cornwall
  • Mon Oct 16 10:30 am - 11:30 am with Kelly Cornwall
  • Fri Oct 20 10:30 am - 11:30 am with Kelly Cornwall
  • Mon Oct 23 10:30 am - 11:30 am with Kelly Cornwall