Three Ways to Get Started

 

My Account

Tel: 239-936-6940

Gentle Yoga


This class is taught by:

Valarie Olsen

I have been practicing for about 20 years. I quickly found that the practice helped me cope with the stressors in my life. I reached a point where I wanted to share yoga with others. In June 2011, I became a registered Yoga Teacher. My approach in teaching Hatha style yoga has been very much influenced by the wonderful teachers I've had over the years. I combine aspects of Iyengar, Kripalu, Power, Ashtanga and Hatha in my teaching style, depending on what type of class I'm teaching. I also incorporate my knowledge as a Licensed Mental Health Counselor in using yoga as a self-care approach, a strategy to manage stress, and a way to align mental and physical health. I am honored to be working with this group of teachers at Yoga Bird, and to have more opportunities to grow, learn and share with others.
Begin to awaken to your body in Gentle Yoga, gradually gaining flexibility and mobility through stretching the body and stabilizing the breath. Those new to the practice will benefit from the slower pace and emphasis on reclining and seated postures. More experienced students find Gentle Yoga a place to reconnect with the fundamentals of practice and to cultivate mindful awareness.

Upcoming classes:

  • Wed Oct 25 11:15 am - 12:30 pm with Valarie Olsen
  • Wed Nov 01 11:15 am - 12:30 pm with Valarie Olsen
  • Wed Nov 08 11:15 am - 12:30 pm with Valarie Olsen
  • Wed Nov 15 11:15 am - 12:30 pm with Valarie Olsen
  • Wed Nov 22 11:15 am - 12:30 pm with Valarie Olsen
  • Wed Nov 29 11:15 am - 12:30 pm with Valarie Olsen
  • Wed Dec 06 11:15 am - 12:30 pm with Valarie Olsen
  • Wed Dec 13 11:15 am - 12:30 pm with Valarie Olsen
  • Wed Dec 20 11:15 am - 12:30 pm with Valarie Olsen
  • Wed Dec 27 11:15 am - 12:30 pm with Valarie Olsen
  • Wed Jan 03 11:15 am - 12:30 pm with Valarie Olsen
  • Wed Jan 10 11:15 am - 12:30 pm with Valarie Olsen
  • Wed Jan 17 11:15 am - 12:30 pm with Valarie Olsen
  • Wed Jan 24 11:15 am - 12:30 pm with Valarie Olsen
  • Wed Jan 31 11:15 am - 12:30 pm with Valarie Olsen
  • Wed Feb 07 11:15 am - 12:30 pm with Valarie Olsen
  • Wed Feb 14 11:15 am - 12:30 pm with Valarie Olsen